Nothing Lasts Forever – MEDA102 Final Project

My final piece for MEDA102 was inspired a great deal by Alvin Lucier’s “I Am Sitting In A Room” but more-so by the “I Am Sitting In A Video Room” project by YouTube user canzona, itself based on Lucier’s earlier work. Using a similar concept I wanted to create a piece that looks at the compression of audio. Every time an audio file is exported from an audio editor it is compressed, so I was curious to see if I could take advantage of this to achieve a similar result to canzona.

The process for creating my work basically involved compressing and saving a single audio file numerous times. The overall aim of my project was to repeat this process until any human qualities the speech may have had been eliminated. I felt that using wedding vows would best demonstrate this loss.

Leave a Reply

